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2007 LICENSE RENEWAL  
The 2007 license renewal period has concluded.  Those licenses renewed are now current through December 31, 2007. 
There is no longer any grace period for completing renewal of the license.  Those licenses not timely and properly 
renewed by December 31, 2006 are now expired as of January 1, 2007. Licensees with expired licenses were sent an 
expiration/cease & desist notice.  Those companies who did not renew the license should immediately stop selling 
and/or shipping legend drugs and/or devices in and/or into Louisiana. If a Louisiana licensee is found to be 
selling/distributing with an expired license OR purchasing and receiving from a company with an expired Louisiana 
license, you will be in violation of Louisiana statutes and Board promulgated rules and could be subject to 
disciplinary action and fines. 
 
Expired licenses may be reinstated by submitting the completed, signed renewal/reinstatement application form 
along with payment of the reinstatement fee of $200 in addition to the $200 license renewal fee ($400 total fees).  
During the period a license is expired prior to reinstatement, the licensee may not lawfully operate as a wholesale 
distributor of legend drugs and/or devices in Louisiana.  
 

NEW LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 
The Louisiana Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors 
now requires companies that wholesale distribute 
legend (prescription) devices to be licensed to sell 
and/or distribute these legend devices in or into 
Louisiana to other than the consumer/patient (i.e. – to 
other wholesale distributors and administering/ 
dispensing parties such as, but not limited to, 
hospitals, pharmacies, physician offices, home 
health/rehab facilities, emergency medical services, 
etc). A legend device or drug is a device or drug that is 

intended for use by humans which can be dispensed 
by prescription or order of a licensed practitioner and 
whose labeling contains the legend (or variance of) 
“Caution: Federal law prohibits dispensing without a 
prescription” or “Caution: Federal law restricts except 
the sale by or on order of a physician or appropriate 
licensed practitioner” or “Rx Only”. It is your 
responsibility to verify that your legend drug and/or 
device suppliers/vendors are properly licensed by the 
Board to sell and/or distribute in or into Louisiana. 

 
IGNORANCE OF THE LAW IS NO EXCUSE

State statutes and Board promulgated rules can be viewed on the Board’s website at www.lsbwdd.org and a copy of 
the statutes and rules can be obtained by contacting the Board’s administrative office at 12046 Justice Avenue, Suite C, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70816, 225-295-8567, fax 225- 295-8568, email lsbwdd@bellsouth.net.  THE BOARD ENCOURAGES 
YOU TO KEEP A COPY HANDY FOR FUTURE REFERENCE. 
 

ARE ALL OF YOUR LOCATIONS LICENSED
Both sales locations and the distribution locations (if different) for your company are required to be licensed 
as wholesale drug distributors.  Each location must be licensed on its own.  If you have multiple locations 
that either sell or distribute legend drug or device product, be sure they are all licensed. 

 
 
LBWDD In-State Licensee Newsletter, January 2007 1



LBWDD In-State Licensee Newsletter, January 2007 2

CHANGE OF LICENSED FACILITY INFORMATION
Changes in any information regarding your licensed facility 
must be submitted to the Board in writing or by application, 
if applicable.  If you are planning to move your facility to a 
new location or if your facility has a change in ownership, 
you must notify this Board by applying for new licensure.  

Licenses are issued to facilities locations by owner and are 
not-transferable. A new location requires inspection and 
issuance of a new license.  All license information changes 
must be submitted to the Board within 60 days of such 
change as per LAC 46:XCI.303.C. 

 
AGENCIES GOVERNING WHOLESALE DRUG DISTRIBUTION IN LOUISIANA 

There are several state and federal government agencies that work together for the regulation of the wholesale 
distribution of legend (prescription) drugs and devices in and within the state of Louisiana. First, there is this Board, 
the LOUISIANA BOARD OF WHOLESALE DRUG DISTRIBUTORS, which is charged by the state legislature to 
license and regulate wholesale distributors of legend drugs and devices - including but not limited to manufacturers, 
repackers’ own-label distributors, private label distributors, jobbers, brokers, warehouses including manufacturers’, 
distributors’, chain drug and wholesale drug warehouses, independent wholesale drug traders, retail pharmacies that 
conduct wholesale distribution, and freight forwarders - that are sell and distribute in/within Louisiana to entities 
other than the consumer/patient.  There is also the FOOD AND DRUG PROGRAM of the Louisiana Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, Center for Environmental Health/Sanitarian Services which is 
responsible for registering and regulating manufacture and storage distribution locations for drugs, medical devices, 
and medical gases and ensuring the sanitation of these facilities.  The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy is the state 
regulatory agency for the practice of pharmacy and also manages the state CONTROLLED DANGEROUS 
SUBSTANCE PROGRAM which licenses locations where controlled substances are held and/or distributed from. 
There is the UNITED STATES DRUG ENFORCEMENT AGENCY (DEA), Office of Diversion Control which is the 
federal agency for registration and enforcement of the provisions of the Controlled Substance Act as they pertain to 
the manufacture, distribution, and dispensing of legally produced controlled substances.  The UNITED STATES 
FOOD AND DRUG ADMINISTRATION (FDA) is the federal agency that registers, regulates, and enforces drug and 
device pre-marketing approval, manufacturing standards, and safety and effectiveness. Contract information for these 
state agencies as well as local state offices of these federal agencies can be obtained from the Board office or on the 
Board’s website under Links. 
 

EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS 
In the event our state again finds itself in a state of emergency due to another disaster such that was experienced in 
late 2005 with Hurricanes Katrina and Rita where most land phones in the affected area as well as some cell phone 
services were hampered by the destruction, the utilization of a “satellite” phone may be helpful in keeping things 
running. Board office staff have found a web base satellite phone company – GlobalStar – that allows for the ordering 
and activation of a satellite phone via an “800” telephone number – 877-728-7466. The satellite phone is shipped next 
day FedEx delivery to you with rental and usage rates that can be charged by the day, week, or month.  

 
INSPECTIONS 

BOARD INSPECTOR(S) DO NOT ANNOUNCE OR SCHEDULE INSPECTIONS IN ADVANCE. 
Your facility will be inspected during your normal business 
hours.  During that time, there must be someone available 
that can produce records and assist the Board inspector with 
the inspection.  If the owner/manager is not at the facility 
when the inspector arrives for the inspection, there must be 
someone designated to act in his or her place to allow an 

inspection as authorized in R.S. 37:3470 to take place.  It is 
your responsibility to be in compliance when the inspector 
arrives.  Non-compliance issues that are corrected while the 
inspector is present will be considered as violations found 
and reported to the Board’s compliance officer.

 
UNLICENSED SUPPLIERS 

As per Board promulgated regulation, specifically LAC 
46:XCI.311.F, wholesalers located in Louisiana are 
responsible for verifying that their legend drug or device 
product suppliers are licensed by the Louisiana Board of 
Wholesale Drug Distributors to ship or sell product into 
Louisiana.  Wholesalers are also responsible for notifying the 
Board of any unlicensed wholesalers.  

The PREFERRED method of notification of a supplier of 
legend drugs or devices that is not licensed by the Louisiana 
Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors to sell or ship product 
into Louisiana is for the receiving company to mail or fax a 
copy of the invoice from that unlicensed supplier to the 
LBWDD Board office so the company can be contacted and 
provided with licensing information.
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AUTHORIZED RECIPIENTS 
In accordance with Louisiana Revised Statute 37:3480, sales and distribution of drugs or devices must be made to an 
authorized recipient – i.e., an individual, corporation, or entity that is authorized by law or regulation to procure or 
posses such drugs or devices.  In addition, any location to which legend drugs or devices are sent must also be 
authorized to procure or possess such drugs or devices.  In accordance with Board promulgated regulation, LAC 
46.XCI.311.D and to ensure that the customers you sell/distribute to are authorized to procure or possess legend 
drugs or devices, you are required to maintain copies of licenses for all customers that are shipped or sold legend 
drugs or devices.   
 
There are different types of licenses or permits that the Board will accept as verification of an authorized recipient of 
legend drugs or devices.  These are as follows: 

D.E.A License 
Louisiana Controlled Dangerous Substance (Drug) License 

Medical Examiner’s License 
Dental License 

Veterinarian License 
Pharmacy License (Do not use Drug Kit Permit) 
Louisiana Wholesale Drug Distributors License 
Louisiana Dept. of Health & Hospitals Permit: 

Food & Drug Permit 461 – OTC & Prescription Drugs 
Food & Drug Permit 462 – OTC, Prescription Drugs and Controlled Substances 

Food & Drug Permit 463 – Prescription Drugs 
Food & Drug Permit 464 – Prescription & Controlled Substances 

Food & Drug Permit 465 – Controlled Substances 
Food & Drug Permit 467 – Prescription Generic Drugs 

Food & Drug Permit 468 – OTC Generic & Prescription Generic Drugs 
Food & Drug Permit 480 – Medical Devices 

 
The types of licenses, permits, and certifications that can be used as verification of an authorized recipient of medical 
gases are the ones listed above as well as: 

Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) Certification 
First Responder Certification 

Louisiana Dept. of Health & Hospitals 
Food & Drug Permit 473 – Medical Gases 

 
A Divers Alert Network (DAN) certificate or a certificate issued by the American Red Cross cannot be used and is not 
medical authorization for the holder to refill oxygen cylinders with medical grade oxygen in Louisiana.  These two 
certificates are not acceptable. 
 
For nursing homes and hospitals, you cannot use copies of the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals license 
to operate/occupational license (is generally, a 3-digit license number) that specifies a licensed capacity number on 
file. For those customers that do not have one of the above accepted license/ permits/ certificates, the Board would 
allow a letter from a licensed practitioner, along with a copy of the practitioners current medical license, stating 
he/she has been designated as the Medical Director/Supervisor for the customer and is allowing the customer to 
acquire legend drugs and/or devices under his legal authority as proof of authorized recipient verification for the 
customer. 

 
DISPOSAL OF EXPIRED OR QUARANTINED DRUGS OR DEVICES 

Do not forget that disposals of legend drugs or devices must be fully documented for a complete inventory record.  In 
addition, legend drugs or devices should only be transferred to authorized recipients.   
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PERPETUAL INVENTORY 
As per Board promulgated regulation, specifically LAC 46:XCI.311.A which reads: 

“Wholesale drug or device distributors shall establish and maintain perpetual inventories and records 
of all transactions regarding the receipt and distribution or other disposition of drugs or devices.  These 
records shall include the following information: 
1. source of the drugs or devices, the name and principle address of the seller or transferor, and the 

address of the facility or physical location from which the drugs or devices were shipped; 
2. the identity and quantity of the drugs or devices received and distributed or disposed of; and 
3. the dates of receipt and distribution of the drugs or devices.” 

 
Medical gas distributors should note that you are not required to maintain a perpetual inventory on oxygen, but you 
are required to maintain perpetual inventories on all other medical gases. 
 
You can see full versions on the state statutes and board promulgated regulations governing wholesale drug 
distributors on the Board’s website at www.lsbwdd.org. 
 

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS 
Docket No. 2006001 –Licensee was found in violation of Louisiana Revised Statutes and Board promulgated 
rules with regards to the display of license, misuse of product, improper temperature monitoring, 
quarantined product, failure to have current customers’ licenses on file, failure to maintain or follow 
established policy and procedures, establishment and maintenance of perpetual inventory records, and 
relocation of product to unlicensed facility. The licensee accepted a consent order and was assessed a fine of 
$5,000. 
 
Docket No. 2006002 – Licensee was found in violation of Louisiana Revised Statues and Board promulgated 
rules with regards to failure to keep current licenses for all customers that are sold or shipped product. The 
licensee accepted a consent order and was assessed a fine of $1,000. 
 
Docket No. 2006003 – Licensee was found in violation of Louisiana Revised Statutes and Board 
promulgated rules with regards to failure to keep current licenses for all customers that are sold or shipped 
product. The licensee accepted a consent order and was assessed a fine of $1,000. 
 
Docket No. 2006006 – Licensee was found in violation of Louisiana Revised Statutes and Board 
promulgated rules with regards to failure to keep current licenses for all customers that are sold or shipped 
product.  The licensee accepted a consent order and was assessed a fine of $1,000. 
 
Docket No. 2006007 – Licensee was found in violation of Louisiana Revised Statutes and Board 
promulgated rules with regards to failure to maintain current licenses for all customers that are sold or 
shipped product and failure to maintain appropriate product storage temperatures and failure to maintain 
temperature logs. The licensee accepted a consent order and was assessed a fine of $8,300. 
 
Docket No. 2006008 – Licensee was found in violation of Louisiana Revised Statutes and Board 
promulgated rules with regards to failure to keep current licenses for all customers that are sold or shipped 
product. The licensee accepted a consent order and was assessed a fine of $1,000. 
 
Docket No. 2006009 – Licensee was found in violation of Louisiana Revised Statutes and Board 
promulgated rules with regards to failure to maintain current licenses for all customers that are sold or 
shipped product, failure to maintain perpetual inventories, and failure to maintain policy and procedures at 
the facility for management’s familiarity.  The licensee accepted a consent order and was assessed a fine of 
$4,000. 

http://www.lsbwdd.org/
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BOARD WEBSITE 

The BOARD’S WEBSITE AT www.lsbwdd.org has many active functions and helpful links.  You can print 
an application form, view previous newsletters to licensees, view a list of the current Board Members and 
staff, view and print the state statutes & Board rules, verify license information of wholesale drug and/or 
device distributors licensed by the Board, and do various inquiries, such as verify and print licenses, using 
the links to other agencies such as the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy, Louisiana Board of Dentistry, and the 
Louisiana Board of Medical Examiners.  The license information printed from these sites can be kept on file 
as customer license verification copies for wholesalers in Louisiana.  You can even download a spreadsheet 
list of all Louisiana licensed wholesale drug distributors.   
 
There is a link to the FDA website so you can use it to review recalls and safety alerts issued by the FDA.  
You can get information on applying for a license with the Louisiana Controlled Dangerous Substance 
Program through the Board of Pharmacy.  There is also a link to the NDC directory. 
 

Please pass this newsletter around so that all of your employees can have the benefit of learning 
more about regulation of the industry. 
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LOUISIANA BOARD OF WHOLESALE  

DRUG DISTRIBUTORS 
12046 Justice Avenue, Suite C 
Baton Rouge, LA 70816 
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